The Downside of Green Smoothies

Concerns about smoothies and oxalic acid, nitrate availability, dental erosion, and weight gain are addressed.

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free recipe from his new HOW NOT TO DIE COOKBOOK. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

That’s it—the whole smoothie enchilada! Phew. For those who are sick of smoothies, you will be happy to know the next video will be nonsmoothie-related (though will undoubtedly unleash its own storm of controversy!). For those who missed the rest of Smoothiepalooza, here’s the first 4 videos of the series:
• Are Green Smoothies Good for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-green-smoothies-good-for-you)
• Are Green Smoothies Bad for You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/are-green-smoothies-bad-for-you)
Green Smoothies: What Does the Science Say? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/green-smoothies-what-does-the-science-say)
• Liquid Calories: Do Smoothies Lead to Weight Gain? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/liquid-calories-do-smoothies-lead-to-weight-gain)

Was the concern about dental erosion new to you? See more in:
• Plant-Based Diets: Oral Health (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-oral-health/)
• Plant-Based Diets: Dental Health (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-dental-health/)
• Protecting Teeth From Hibiscus Tea (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Protecting-Teeth-From-Hibiscus-Tea)

What’s with that nitrate thing? See Don’t Use Antiseptic Mouthwash (nutritionfacts.org/video/dont-use-antiseptic-mouthwash). What’s the best mouthwash then? See the video What’s the Best Mouthwash? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/whats-the-best-mouthwash) More on nitrate-containing vegetables coming up!

More on fat-soluble nutrient absorption in an ancient video of mine, Forego Fat-Free Dressings? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/forego-fat-free-dressings/)

And more on oxalates and kidney stones in How to Prevent Kidney Stones With Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-didney-stones-with-diet) and How to Treat Kidney Stones with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-treat-kidney-stones-with-diet/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-downside-of-green-smoothies and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/
• Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

The Fat Decimator System

Leave a Reply

EASYSENDY.com